• things are about to get woolly...
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 11 other followers

The 2011 List. These Are Not Resolutions.

I’m making a list of the things I’d like to do this year.  One of the beneficial life skills I learned in corporate America is how to tame that creature called SMART goals.  To really get things done you should form goals that are Specific, Measurable, Attainable, Realistic and Timely. Blegh, I know–at least you didn’t have to sit through a workshop on it.

Examples of STUPID goals: be better, achieve stuff, lose weight, sell more, buy less, etc.  Those are vague desires fueled by feelings, rather than goals.  Don’t feel STUPID if you’ve ever made a goal of this kind, just look at it from the SMART perspective, and it’ll help you see why you might not have achieved your goal.

That said, this is a lighthearted list of things I want to accomplish this year.  Nothing deathly serious.

1. Turn 27. I’m considering the purchase of an eye cream, but recently heard that anti-wrinkle potions are really a bunch of hokum. Thoughts?  I  have recently begun to spend more time peering in the mirror wondering if the lines around my eyes are more or less advanced than everyone else my age.

2. Go to a Phillies Game. This is pretty straightforward.  My husband has never been to a major league baseball game and it’s been a LONG time for me too.

3. Visit the Philadelphia Museum of Art…again, and get through the entire thing this time, especially Costume & Textiles!

4. Run a 5K. Zumba-Zumba-Zumba-ZOW!

5. Design 2 New Patterns. Submit 1 needlecraft pattern to a print magazine and 1 to an e-zine.

6. Blog 24 times. Craft and write. Write and craft. 2 posts per month.

7. Read 12 books with my book club.

January – A Certain Slant of Light by Laura Whitcomb

February –

March –

April –

May –

June –

July –

August –

September –

October –

November –

December –

8. Study to improve my pattern-grading skills and use a grading tutorial on a new pattern from start-to-finish. Who knew that when I said, “I’ll never use this?” about maths, I was so wrong?  I’m just grateful that knit and crochet design doesn’t require anything to do with my arch-nemesis: molar mass, which always sounded like heavy teeth to me. Massy molars?

9. Grow out my natural hair color. I want to save money, strike a blow in the battle for peace with my natural self, and have thicker, less brittle hair that I can blissfully damage with a body perm if I so choose. I plan to get more regular cuts instead of saving up for color.

10. Knit socks to completion. This is a hard one. I have been known to knit one sock, feel the heady glow of creating such a useful thing and wear…one sock.  I will use the 2-at-a-time method to knit a real pair of socks.

11. Make my own Christmas cards. I’m thinking cross-stitched or embellished with embroidery.  Maybe I should start now.

12. List my merch on Etsy. I have quite a few things I’ve made that I’d like to give a chance on etsy.  Just need to set aside time to work on that.

13. Learn to work woven crochet. Plaids! Need I say more?

14. Learn to work fair isle. I would like to make a small fair isle project, like a glorious tam! I’m very keen on the technique where you take a variegated or hand-painted yarn and fair isle it with a solid color to make those watercolor kind of designs.

15. Write a blog tutorial. Topic undecided.

16. Sew a garment from a pattern. Sew a wearable garment from a pattern.

17. Balance my blood sugar. I’m working on managing my hypoglycemia by eating fewer refined sugars/flours and simple sugars and by eating proteins and whole grains more frequently throughout the day.  The only problem with this bullet goal is that it is so ongoing, I don’t think I can ever check it off the list. Hmm. Not SMART.

18. Visit the Jersey Shore and see if I (we) get sand kicked in my (our) face(s).

19. Read before bed. I was going to say “watch less t.v.” but I realized that I don’t truly know how much t.v. I watch, but I know that I will not be doing a scientific analysis of my time expenditure. Besides, I want this list to be positively oriented, rather than “uhh, stop eating all junk foods, stop being lazy and cook/clean/work out” – those are only discouraging.

I will be adding and crossing things off throughout the year, but this seems like a good start. What do you want to do this year?

Leave a Reply

