• things are about to get woolly...
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 10 other followers

On the Hook, On the Needles, Wrimo & General Goings-On

Well! I’ve been having one of those periods of time where I’ve been doing a lot of needlework, but don’t have a lot of things to show for it!  I’m working up a lovely little crocheted version of Miss Sadie that I’m looking forward to sharing, and also gearing up for NaNoWriMo which is starting on Monday!

If there are any Wrimos out there who can offer me advice, I’d like to hear it.  If one expects to work steadily at it, the quota is about 1666 words per day for 30 days.  I don’t plan to be legalistic about a daily word count. Perhaps a weekly word count of *gulp* 12,500!

Deep breaths.

Also working on developing the pattern for the delightful furrow hat, pictured below.  I love this ribbing, so neat and tidy. I’m still playing with options for the crown decreases.  This first idea doesn’t look as organic as I thought it would.

the tight ribbing reminds me of earthy furrows

Furrow Cap

a little bit of the first crown decrease technique

Have recently become semi-obsessed with refining my technique for working seamless raglan crocheted sweaters in the round from the top down.  Goodness, that’s a mouthful, but it expresses all the elements that I’m going for.  I love top-down raglan knitting and have been working to bring it seamlessly (hah.) into crochet since I’ve noticed a dearth of available patterns on ravelry.

Working crochet in rounds creates a bias in the fabric that totally undermined my first design idea which featured a lacy front panel. By the time I had worked the entire body, the panel was fully skewed from one side to the other.  It’s funny how sometimes we crafters can stubbornly persevere thinking “surely this will work out! it’s not as bad as it seems right now–just a few more rounds.” And the old stand-by, “nothing a firm blocking won’t take care of!” Sigh.  I learn slowly.

Abandoned lace panel idea and am now working to figure a good formula for Top Down Raglan Crochet Sweaters.

Top Down Raglan Crochet WIP

I am enjoying the world of pattern sales!  Yo-Yo has been something a hit and I love getting notes back from crocheters and knitters who are using it and Mon Amie. Thanks for your support!

Elspeth was featured in KP’s October Catalog, much to my surprise and delight!   Again, I’d like to say how much I enjoy being a part of the Knit Picks IDP program!  It’s been such a great springboard for me as a new designer.  So cool!

My husband made this for Facebook and then we had champagne.

Leave a Reply

