• things are about to get woolly...
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 10 other followers

Babies!

March 8, 2009

Apparently, it’s BABY-TIME! Just shy of my 25th birthday, I am suddenly confronted with the reality that everyone I know is growing up and getting responsible on me. Sonogram pictures and announcements are popping up all over Facebook, and in the midst of it all, I find myself oddly delighted at the thought of knitting tiny things in soft colors!

Of course, it helps that at long last my best friend is joyfully among their number, and she’s the only one I will actually knit for. She’s a knitter, so I’m sure you understand. I’m so thrilled to be an Aunty! Whoops, can’t say that too loud, or my brothers will be getting awfully nervous.

Speaking of which, I guess I should explain that I live an oddly baby-less existence. I was realizing a couple of weeks ago during a conversation with a classmate that I have not actually held an infant since 2003. Really.

All of that to say, I know virtually nothing about pregnancy and babies. I babysat a little when I was 14/15, so I know how to change a diaper and that “DUZ!!” means “juice, please” but beyond that…nothin’!

It’s worrying my husband a little bit, because suddenly I’m getting creative surges about baby apparel, momma apparel and soft toys to knit…I’m talking about baby knitting books, googling “soakers,” and using the word “adorable” far too often. But he need not worry, I’m perfectly content to spend this new period of life observing. I can’t help but wonder at the amazingness of it all, I think this says it for me:

“For You created my inmost being; You knit me together in my mother’s womb. I praise You because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; Your works are wonderful I know that full well.” Psalm 139: 13-14

Leave a Reply

