• things are about to get woolly...
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 10 other followers

A Designing Woman, Me? A dirty ol’ back-post from a defunct blog

I have officially started designing my own knitwear, and have discovered the huge thrill that it is to imagine something and make it happen. As Agatha Christie would say, I have “felt the glow of the creator.”

But here’s the thing: I’m such a top-down, in-the-round groupie that the basic techniques are starting to click and I’m really enjoying the process of trying to let the yarn be what it wants to be, Maggie Righetti style. My next step is to learn how to write clear, accurate patterns that are fun to knit!

So let’s cut to the chase. Here’s a quick photo archive of stuff I made myself; most recent first.

Look, Ma! No hands!

Well, it turns out there were hands. Hands = pretty important, actually.

::Mina::
Made with Patons Soy Wool Solids in Natural Indigo
m

Mina

This vest appeared out of my need for something to warm my “core” (Tom hates it when I call it that) but didn’t feel too sweater-vesty.

::Architexture::
Architexture

Architexture back

Made with Cascade 220 in Light Amethyst Heather
So-called for the easy raglan construction, knit in the round with a just a bit of textural interest at the waist and 3/4 sleeves by way of Rev St st rings.

::Mama Surprise Sweater::
Surprise, Mama!

Purty Buttons

This cardi was lovingly made for my mom in the spirit of Elizabeth Zimmermann’s love of family and garter stitch. Again, this design uses raglan increases and a unique method of accidentally-on-purpose waist shaping.
Made with Lion Brand Homespun in Plum

::Tom’s Fall Semester Sweater::

Uh-oh, he looks mad!

Chinny-chin-chin

MPK!

Made with Cascade 220 Light Brown Sienna

I started this in August 2008 just before our semester began and finished it during finals week in December. I learned a lot from working up this design, as painful as it was at times, it’s based on his desire for an allover ribbed sweater.

I feel like a real, old-fashioned knit-blogger now that I have some things to talk about, so there will be lots more coming as I round the bend and learn to write up the patterns.

Leave a Reply

